No by-election in Honiton St Paul’s after three candidates stand for quartet of town council seats

A by-election for a quartet of roles on Honiton Town Council will no longer be held – after just three people put themselves forward. 

Residents had been set to go to the polls over four available seats in the St Paul’s ward, writes Local Democracy Reporter Joe Ives.

Now, a trio of candidates – Joseph Furneaux-Gotch, Debra Hulin and Caroline Kolek – will automatically become councillors and be elected unopposed.

The final remaining seat will be ‘co-opted’ and eligible residents can put their name forward.

Members will decide, after presentations from any applicants, who they wish to fill the seat at the council’s next meeting.

When asked if he was concerned about the lack of candidates in the St Paul’s ward, Honiton town clerk Stephen Hill said another by-election in Honiton St Michael’s ‘had a very good show’ of would-be councillors.

He added: “It’s up to members of the public to decide if they want to put themselves forward.”

Mr Hill said he did not know why so few people were interested in representing St Paul’s.

A by-election will be held on Thursday, March 10, between 7am and 10pm for four seats in the Honiton St Michael’s ward.

Polling stations are Honiton Library and The Heathfield Inn.

The candidates are Lisa Beigan; Jenny Brown; Robert Fowles; Cathy Maunder; Andrew Pearsall; and John Taylor.

Schoolgirl, six, from Honiton, becomes Devon Freewheelers’ youngest fundraiser thanks to chores charity challenge