Victory for Haimes in East Devon at 2020 Wiscombe Hill Climb, near Honiton

BARC SW member Paul Haimes took the overall honours in East Devon at Torbay Motor Club’s Wiscombe hill climb in August, one of the first hill climb events to be held in 2020 after the extended coronavirus lockdown, writes Rupert Barker, of Torbay Motor Club.

Despite having to be held without spectators, ‘behind closed doors’, the popular Fusion Fostering-sponsored event, at Wiscombe Park, near Honiton, drew a maximum entry of 110 car drivers and 40 motorcycles, contesting a total of seven national, regional, club, venue and marque championships.

The fine weather contributed to good course conditions, although proceedings were interrupted for a delay early in the second timed runs when Neil Catling (Lotus Elise) went off the track at speed at the Gate, thankfully without injury other than to his pride. When action resumed, Haimes’ specialised Gould GR59 racer proved more than a match for the local regional championship contenders, eclipsing his opening timed run of 36.66 seconds by a further three-tenths of a second to take the Fastest Time of the Day award at 36.36 secs.

The ‘best of the rest’ comprised Woolbridge MC’s Andrew Forsyth (OMS CF04) and Taunton AC’s Tony Bonfield (Jedi Mk 4), who put up a spirited challenge to inspire Haimes, with best runs of 38.04 and 38.73 respectively, the only others bar the winner to dip below the 39 second mark.

The two most hotly-contested classes proved to be A2, where the two Jonathans, Wright (Golf GTi) and Langmead (Lotus Elise), finished just 17 hundredths of a second apart, the former prevailing on his second timed run, and A3, where Ben Adams (Audi A3 Quattro) snatched victory from Rodney Eyles in the lovely Alfa Romeo 4C by an equally slender two-tenths of a second.

Derek Kessell (Maguire Mini Cooper S) was far ahead of the four other Downton Engineering Works Social Club Speed Series contenders and Tom Short (KTM SMR) and Simon & Jane Foster (Honda F2) took the two and three-wheel spoils in the National Hill Climb Association motorcycle competition.

The ‘Spirit of the Event’ award was presented to event official Howard West for his immense efforts to pull together the extensive Covid-19 precautions.


Neil Tuckey (Westfield), 1st in class B3.
Photo: Paul Morris Motorsport Photography.


Simon & Jane Foster (Honda F2) – Combination (3 Wheel) FTD.
Photo: Paul Morris Motorsport Photography


Shaun Tuckey (Ford Ka), 1st in class C2.
Photo: Paul Morris Motorsport Photography


Tom Short (KTM SMR) – Motorcycle (2 Wheel) FTD.
Photo: Howard Fowler at 569 Motorsports Media.

hill climb

Paul Haimes (Gould GR59) – Fastest Time of the Day (FTD)
Photo: Paul Morris Motorsport Photography

hill climb

Steve Hill (Caterham 7), 1st in class B2.
Photo: Paul Morris Motorsport Photography


Class:Winner: Motor Club:Time:
A1Simon CoxAustin MiniBOC49.73
A2Jonathan WrightVW Golf GTiBurnham on Sea MC44.10
A3Ben AdamsAudi A3 QuattroWoolbridge MC44.52
A4Stephen MooreMitsubishi LancerBARC SW42.31
B2Steve HillCaterham 7Torbay MC45.56
B3Neil TuckeyWestfieldTorbay MC43.86
C1John TandyMG MidgetWoolbridge MC47.71
C2Shaun TuckeyFord KaTorbay MC46.42
C3Martin StubbingtonVW Golf GTiWoolbridge MC47.28
D3Steve EllisFord Escort Mk2Woolbridge MC44.66
E1Ben BonfieldJedi Mk 4Plymouth MC38.73
E2Andrew ForsythOMS CF04Woolbridge MC38.04
E3Phil Montgomery-SmithOMS 2000MTruro & District CC41.67
F1Derek KessellMaguire Mini Cooper SDEWS44.02
Fastest 2WHTom ShortKTM SMRNHCA41.58
Fastest 3WHSimon & Jane FosterHonda F2NHCA44.62
Fastest TorbayRobert ClarkeEmpire Evo 00Torbay MC42.11
Most EntertainingJan YeoFord 34 CoupeTorbay MC42.94
Spirit of the EventHoward West
FTDPaul HaimesGould GR59BARC SW36.36

The event was a round of:

The 2020 Association of South Western Motor Clubs TyreMarks Hill Climb Championship,

The 2020 Association of Central Southern Motor Clubs Hamilton Motorsport Hillclimb Championship,

The 2020 Tillicoultry Quarries Wiscombe Hill Climb Championship,

The 2020 Torbay Motor Club Speed Championship,

The 2020 DEWS Speed Series,

The Triple M/Pirelli Hillclimb and Sprint Association Speed Championship, and

The National Hill Climb Association Championship.

[asp_product id=”17531″]

For more East Devon sport, see here

About Author