East Devon rugby: Exmouth RFC holds 2019/20 awards evening

Exmouth Rugby Football Club has held its 2019/20 awards evening.

The Cockles’ ceremony is usually held in early summer with the previous season’s action still very much fresh in the mind.

However, this year, because of the coronavirus pandemic, the awards had to be held back and have only just taken place after the relaxation of lockdown restrictions.

Social distance was the order of the day as players stepped forward to be honoured with various awards from the 2019/20 campaign.

The Players’ Player award for the 1st XV went to Lewis Geran, who also went home with the award of Best Newcomer.

The other Exmouth RFC teams Players’ Player of the Year award winners were Sam Fulthorpe for the 2nd XV and Alex Hooper for the Nomads.

The Top Try Scorer awards went to Dave Bargent, for the 1st XV, Sam Fullthorpe, for the 2nd XV and Ross Matthews, for the Nomads.

The Managers’ Awards went to Dan Armstrong (1st XV), Joe Harris (2nd XV) and Alex Hooper (Nomads).

Jack Madge received the Most Improved player award and, last, but certainly not least, the 1st XV Captain’s Award was presented to the Cockles’ CLOGS – a group comprising of former players and officials of the club who attend 1st XV matches home and away throughout the season.

Picture: Exmouth RFC

Picture: Exmouth RFC

Picture: Exmouth RFC

Picture: Exmouth RFC

[asp_product id=”17531″]

Keeper Will is shootout hero as spot-on Exmouth Town FC U-18s win Wotton Printers Devon Cup

About Author